WWW Wednesday (May 6th)

This weekly meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open to all to participate. Why not join in and let us know what you’re reading this week…

WWW Wednesday

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

The Red NotebookThe Red Notebook by Antoine Laurain

At only 159 pages this is a book that needs to get straight into the action and it is does; no mincing about, the story starts with the theft of the bag and how Laurent finds it. In the first few pages I find myself really liking Laurent and his sense of doing what’s right and am keen to read on.

The blurb

Bookseller Laurent Letellier comes across an abandoned handbag on a Parisian street, and feels impelled to return it to its owner. The bag contains no money, phone or contact information. But a small red notebook with handwritten thoughts and jottings reveals a person that Laurent would very much like to meet. Without even a name to go on, and only a few of her possessions to help him, how is he to find one woman in a city of millions?

What did you recently finish reading?

The Dead Wife's HandbookThe Dead Wife’s Handbook by Hannah Beckerman

I found this book a bit strange in all honesty. I do like my books to have a sense of realism; a sense that what’s happening could happen and so to be fully engaged in this book you need to believe in some kind of afterlife and I’m not sure that I did/do. There’s elements of selfishness in the main character and although I felt sorry for her and her tortuous experience of the afterlife I never really warmed to her.

The blurb

‘Today is my death anniversary. A year ago today I was still alive.’

Rachel, Max and their daughter Ellie had the perfect life – until the night Rachel’s heart stopped beating.

Now Max and Ellie are doing their best to adapt to life without Rachel, and just as her family can’t forget her, Rachel can’t quite let go of them either. Caught in a place between worlds, Rachel watches helplessly as she begins to fade from their lives. And when Max is persuaded by family and friends to start dating again, Rachel starts to understand that dying was just the beginning of her problems.

As Rachel grieves for the life she’s lost and the life she’ll never lead, she learns that sometimes the thing that breaks your heart might be the very thing you hope for.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Probably one of these; I’ll see where my mood takes me – care to recommend?

books

 What’s on your reading list this week?

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (May 6th)

  1. Rebecca Bradley says:

    Daughter is a wonderful read. For some reason I kept putting it off. Never quite warming to it, to putting it to the top of my tbr. But one day I just decided I was going to get it done and out the way. I didn’t know why I had it but I’d read it. Anyway, I loved it. It really is a wonderful book and sucks you in and keeps hold of you. The narrative voice is beautiful. Do consider picking it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.