WWW Wednesday (May 20th)

This weekly meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open to all to participate. Why not join in and let us know what you’re reading this week…

WWW Wednesday

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

SolarSolar by Ian McEwan

This is our book club read for May and having not being over-impressed with The Children Act I approached this book with trepidation and it seems I was right too! 75% boring techy science stuff, 25% humourous antics. Also, I don’t know what it is about Ian McEwan books but they have a way of making me feel totally uneducated and thick! 😦

The blurb

Michael Beard is a Nobel prize-winning physicist whose best work is behind him. A compulsive womaniser, Beard finds his fifth marriage floundering. But this time it is different: she is having the affair, and he is still in love with her.

When Beard’s professional and personal worlds collide in a freak accident, an opportunity presents itself for Beard to extricate himself from his marital mess, reinvigorate his career and save the world from environmental disaster. Ranging from the Arctic Circle to the deserts of New Mexico, this is a story of one man’s greed and self-deception; a darkly satirical novel showing human frailty struggling with the most pressing and complex problem of our time.

What did you recently finish reading?

In My HouseIn My House by Alex Hourston

I was expecting something very different from this book. I was expecting more from the human trafficking plotline rather than the human interest story that I got. The majority of the book was quite slow and all in all I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to recommend.

The blurb

Maggie lives a life of careful routines and measured pleasures. But everything changes when, walking through Gatwick a few days shy of her fifty-eighth birthday, a young woman approaches her and whispers a single word: ‘Help.’

Maggie responds, and in that moment saves a stranger, earning Anja her freedom and ensuring the arrest of a brutal trafficker.

But when the story gets picked up by the papers, Margaret is panicked by the publicity, as well as the strange phone calls she begins to receive.

Meanwhile Anja makes contact. She wants to thank her rescuer, but quickly insinuates herself into Maggie’s life.

As her relationship with Anja intensifies, Maggie begins to reveal, in increments, what it is she has been hiding. As a picture of her past takes shape, we are drawn into a slippery moral maze in which every choice is compromised. Maggie’s account is faithful, but she will keep you guessing about what really happened until the very end.

What do you think you’ll read next?

DisclaimerDisclaimer by Renee Knight

June, July and August are going to be dedicated to #PaperbackSummer so I wanted to squeeze in this e-book before then. It’s had such a lot of positive hype on social media I’m really looking forward to seeing if it’s as good as everyone says.

The blurb

When an intriguing novel appears on Catherine’s bedside table, she curls up in bed and begins to read.

But as she turns the pages she is sickened to realize the story will reveal her darkest secret.

A secret she thought no one else knew…

Let me know in the comments what you’re reading this week?

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (May 20th)

  1. Claire Huston says:

    I’ve had trouble with Ian McEwan too! I’ve read two of his books (Atonement and Enduring Love) and both times I was underwhelmed and felt as if I must be missing the brilliance that everyone else can see…

    I’ve been thinking about reading Disclaimer too. I’m worried that it’ll be a let down after hearing all the praise for it. I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of it.

    This is the first time I’ve taken part in WWW Wednesday after seeing your post here. Thank you for introducing me to this lovely activity!

    https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/05/20/www-wednesday/

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookboodle says:

      I wasn’t overkeen on The Children Act either so think I’ll probably steer clear in future.
      Thanks for stopping by and I’ll be over to check out your post too 🙂

      Like

  2. Sam says:

    Sounds like the summary of ‘In My House’ should have been written differently. I hope you can finish your current read soon and get to something you enjoy more. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yvo says:

    A shame you are not enjoying Solar! I have only read Atonement by the same author so far, but I can understand where you are going… I’ve heard similar complaints about his novels before. I hope you enjoy your next read better!

    Here’s my WWW post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cleopatralovesbooks says:

    I have loved some of Ian McEwan’s books such as Atonement but been left underwhelmed by others – I’m not in any rush to read Children’s Act for that very reason. I did love Disclaimer so I hope that this ends the run of less than engaging books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.