WWW Wednesday (March 18th)

This weekly meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open to all to participate. Why not join in and let us know what you’re reading this week…

WWW Wednesday

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?

• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

The A to Z Of You & MeThe A to Z of You And Me by James Hannah

Am half way through and it’s really quite a sad tale. The main character Ivo, is recalling memories as an A to Z list whilst being nursed in a hospice. I can’t see this ending well 😦 more tissues at the ready.

The blurb

I’m lying here in a bed, my head full of regret, with only a little bird flitting through a tree to comfort me.

Friends want to visit, but I refuse them. So my carer Sheila has given me a task to keep me occupied.

An A-Z list. Think of a part of my body for each letter. Tell a little tale about it.

When I reach H for Heart, what will I say?

How we loved to string crocheted hearts in trees? How our hearts steadily unravelled?

So I begin with A. Adam’s apple.

Will you be there to catch me when I fall?

What did you recently finish reading?

HausfrauHausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum

I loved the writing style in this book even though I actually didn’t love/enjoy the story itself. It wasn’t a surprise to learn that the author is a poet. I hadn’t realised when I requested via Netgalley just how sexually explicit it was! 😉

The blurb

Anna Benz lives in comfort and affluence with her husband and three young children in Dietlikon, a picture-perfect suburb of Zurich. Anna, an American expat, has chosen this life far from home; but, despite its tranquility and order, inside she is falling apart.

Feeling adrift and unable to connect with her husband or his family; with the fellow expatriates who try to befriend her; or even, increasingly, her own thoughts and emotions, Anna attempts to assert her agency in the only way that makes sense to her: by engaging in short-lived but intense sexual affairs.

But adultery, too, has its own morality, and when Anna finds herself crossing a line, she will set off a terrible chain of events that ends in unspeakable tragedy. As her life crashes down around her, Anna must then discover where one must go when there is no going back . . .

What do you think you’ll read next?

The Thirteenth TaleThe Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

This is our book club read which meets at the end of this month so this will be my next read. I’ve seen the BBC drama adaptation starring Olivia Colman and Vanessa Redgrave which I enjoyed but am still looking forward to reading the book.

The blurb

Angelfield House stands abandoned and forgotten. It was once home to the March family – fascinating, manipulative Isabelle, brutal, dangerous Charlie, and the wild, untamed twins, Emmeline and Adeline. But Angelfield House hides a chilling secret which strikes at the very heart of each of them, tearing their lives apart…

Now Margaret Lea is investigating Angelfield’s past – and the mystery of the March family starts to unravel. What has Angelfield been hiding? What is its connection with the enigmatic writer Vida Winter? And what is the secret that strikes at the heart of Margaret’s own, troubled life?

As Margaret digs deeper, two parallel stories unfold, and the tale she uncovers sheds a disturbing light on her own life…

  What’s on your reading list this week?

One thought on “WWW Wednesday (March 18th)

  1. Sam says:

    ‘A to Z’ does sound really sad! I hope it’s still enjoyable for you.

    Thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday and don’t forget to link up your post. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.